Previous symposia

Banking Law Symposium 2011
Crisis Management and the Use of Government Guarantees
3-4 October 2011 – Paris, France

The 2011 Banking Law Symposium, co-organised with the OECD, focused on bank failure resolution and crisis management, in particular, the use of guarantees and the spill-overs between the credit qualities of sovereigns and banking systems. Policymakers and academics engaged in open dialogue on these issues and discussed policy solutions.

Part of the OECD’s 50th anniversary celebrations, the Symposium took place back-to-back with the October meetings of the OECD’s Committee on Financial Markets.



Since its inception, the Symposium has promoted research and dialogue on banking law and financial sector policy issues. The programme focused on global financial issues and highlighted crisis management and the use of government guarantees to promote financial sector stability. This event attracted speakers from a variety of backgrounds; namely policymakers, practitioners (central bankers and regulators) and academics (from a wide range of disciplines).

The symposium discussed what changes were needed to make banking systems more resilient before the next crisis hits with a particular focus on:

  • the role of sovereign guarantees particularly in relation to the newly established European Financial Stabilization Fund;
  • an assessment of public guarantees on bank assets in the light of the recent experience in the UK and other countries;
  • the value of the contingent fiscal liabilities created by government guarantees: how to determine it and how to hedge it.



Previous speakers include

  • Kern Alexander (University of Cambridge)
  • Douglas Arner (Asian Institute of International Financial Law)
  • Rafiz Azuan Abdullah (General Manager, Insurance, Risk, Assessment and Monitoring, Malaysia Deposit Insurance Corporation)
  • Colin Bamford (Barrister)
  • Md Khairuddin Bin Hj Arshad (Chief Operating Officer, Malaysia Deposit Insurance Corporation)
  • Jens-Hinrich Binder (European Business School)
  • Robert R. Bliss (Wake Forest University)
  • Adrian Blundell-Wignall (Deputy Director, OECD)
  • Lee Buchheit (Partner, Cleary Gottlieb Steen  & Hamilton)
  • Giovanni Calice (University of Southampton)
  • Andrew Campbell (University of Leeds)
  • Francesca Campolongo (European Commission Joint Research Centre)
  • Peter Cartwright (University of Nottingham)
  • Jing Chen (Swansea University)
  • Christine Cumming (First Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of New York)
  • Charles Enoch (International Monetary Fund)
  • Geronimo Frigerio (Inter-American Development Bank)
  • Gillian Garcia (Gillian G. H. Garcia Associates)
  • Anna Gelpern (Washington College of Law, American University)
  • Mario Giovanoli (University of Lausanne)
  • Simon Gleeson (Clifford Chance)
  • Charles A.E. Goodhart (Financial Market Group, London School of Economics)
  • Dale Gray (International Monetary Fund)
  • Mar Gudmundsson (Governor, Central Bank of Icelend)
  • Jorge Guira (University of Warwick)
  • Mitu Gulati (Duke University)
  • Eva Hüpkes (Financial Stability Board)
  • Andreas Jobst (International Monetary Fund)
  • George G. Kaufman (Loyola University)
  • Masahiro Kawai (Asian Development Bank Institute)
  • Malcolm D. Knight (Deutsche Bank Group)
  • Ioannis Kokkoris (University of Reading)
  • John Raymond LaBrosse (Patterson & LaBrosse Financial Consultants Ltd)
  • Luc Laeven (International Monetary Fund)
  • Thomas Laryea (International Monetary Fund)
  • Rosa M. Lastra (Queen Mary, University of London)
  • Matt Lucas (Financial Services Authority)
  • Maike B. Luedersen (International Monetary Fund)
  • David G. Mayes (Europe Institute, University of Auckland)
  • Patrick McAuslan (Birkbeck College London University)
  • John McEldowney (University of Warwick)
  • Marcus Miller (University of Warwick)
  • Rustam Mohd Idris (Bank Negara Malaysia)
  • Maria Nieto (Bank of Spain)
  • Joseph J. Norton (SMU Dedman School of Law)
  • Ganiyu Ogunleye (Nigeria Deposit Insurance)
  • Rodrigo Olivares-Caminal (Queen Mary University of London)
  • Syed Othman Alhabshi (Dean of the International Centre for Education in Islamic Finance)
  • Pier Carlo Padoan (Chief Economist, OECD)
  • Fabio Panetta (Banca d’Italia)
  • Christopher Pleister (Federal Agency for Financial Market Stability)
  • Richard J. Rosen (Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago)
  • Jean Roy (HEC Montréal)
  • Jean Pierre Sabourin (Chief Executive Officer, Malaysia Deposit Insurance Corporation)
  • Sebastian Schich (OECD)
  • Heidi Schooner (Catholic University of America)
  • Jack Selody (Bank of Canada)
  • Arnór Sighvatsson (Central Bank of Iceland)
  • Dalvinder Singh (University of Warwick)
  • John Snape (University of Warwick)
  • Lorraine Talbot (University of Warwick)
  • David K. Walker (Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation)
  • Larry D. Wall (Atlanta Federal Reserve)
  • Julian Williams (University of Aberdeen)
  • Geoffrey Wood (Cass Business School)
  • Philip Wood (Allen & Overy)


Previous Organisers

  • John Raymond LaBrosse (Honorary Visiting Fellow, University of Warwick)
  • Rodrigo Olivares-Caminal (Queen Mary, University of London, Centre for Commercial Law Studies)
  • Dalvinder Singh (University of Warwick, School of Law)

Previous Sponsors

  • University of Reading
  • SOAS, University of London
  • Warwick Law School
  • Deloitte
  • Malaysia Deposit Insurance Corporation